Page 5 of 5

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:51 am
by waysoftheearth
riftstone wrote:If you cast it from your book, and don't have it memorized, how would you re-create the spell? Wouldn't you have to get it from an external source?


DD says: Magic-users and clerics can copy spells which they can memorize onto scrolls.

So I agree with your reading; the word "copy" implies the cleric or M-U requires an existing scroll or book spell in order to create a facsimile. But it's up to Mako not me :)

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:31 pm
by Makofan
riftstone wrote:If you cast it from your book, and don't have it memorized, how would you re-create the spell? Wouldn't you have to get it from an external source?


I must confess I am uneasy about casting directly from a cleric spell book. It just doesn't seem right to me.

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:33 pm
by Makofan
HELMETS

Ways and I have bandied back ideas about helmets. Here is my latest idea on how to handle it.

Since 1 out of 6 hits are head hits, I will assume a damage roll of 6 is a head hit. If you are wearing a helmet, we will reduce the damage by one pip (so 5 damage instead of 6). Then the helmet has to make a saving throw (12+) or be smashed

Comments?

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:56 pm
by sully
If armor and/or shields don't fall apart on the first hit, why do helmets?

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:16 pm
by Makofan
sully wrote:If armor and/or shields don't fall apart on the first hit, why do helmets?


Simon thinks it is implied by the rules. I think only magical helms can be destroyed, as they are explicitly referenced to be non-armor. I am happy with normal helmets never being destroyed

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:10 pm
by waysoftheearth
I don't think it absolutely is implied that helmets can be smashed; I was only pointing out that it possibily is implied that helmets can be smashed. Besides, it's up to Mako not I :D

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:23 pm
by Makofan
I have made this thread viewtopic.php?f=32&t=522
where you can see marching orders, status of torches, time elapsed, etc

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:09 pm
by acodispo
Hi Makofan, how will you be handling learning of new spells? Specifically referencing the spell on offer in the current delve. If we purchase a single copy for the group, can all our casters eventually learn the new spell by copying from each other?

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:57 pm
by Makofan
Sure

The first guy would copy the scroll into his spell book, using up the scroll

Then your supremely cooperative group would lend their spell book out to other members of the party

Re: Q&A

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:41 pm
by acodispo
Cool!

Yes, I am making a huge assumption that Wiglaff's fellow magic-users would share. :-)