Q&A


Makofan's Deep Dungeon Crawl PBP

Moderator: Makofan

User avatar

Posts: 16346

Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:15 am

Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 12:51 am

Re: Q&A

riftstone wrote:If you cast it from your book, and don't have it memorized, how would you re-create the spell? Wouldn't you have to get it from an external source?


DD says: Magic-users and clerics can copy spells which they can memorize onto scrolls.

So I agree with your reading; the word "copy" implies the cleric or M-U requires an existing scroll or book spell in order to create a facsimile. But it's up to Mako not me :)
[f=32]Golgildir the Elf Medium (MV 12", AC 9, HD 1, hp 1/1, AL N) great cloak, lantern; spells: color spray; scrolls: sleep, sleep, charm person
Hirelings: Georges; torch[/f]
User avatar

Posts: 744

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:53 pm

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:31 pm

Re: Q&A

riftstone wrote:If you cast it from your book, and don't have it memorized, how would you re-create the spell? Wouldn't you have to get it from an external source?


I must confess I am uneasy about casting directly from a cleric spell book. It just doesn't seem right to me.
User avatar

Posts: 744

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:53 pm

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:33 pm

Re: Q&A

HELMETS

Ways and I have bandied back ideas about helmets. Here is my latest idea on how to handle it.

Since 1 out of 6 hits are head hits, I will assume a damage roll of 6 is a head hit. If you are wearing a helmet, we will reduce the damage by one pip (so 5 damage instead of 6). Then the helmet has to make a saving throw (12+) or be smashed

Comments?
User avatar

Posts: 1162

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:56 pm

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:56 pm

Re: Q&A

If armor and/or shields don't fall apart on the first hit, why do helmets?
Chiron the Medium (MV 12", AC 9, HD 1, hp 4/4, FC Man, L) dagger+torch, The Mellifluent Concord
User avatar

Posts: 744

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:53 pm

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: Q&A

sully wrote:If armor and/or shields don't fall apart on the first hit, why do helmets?


Simon thinks it is implied by the rules. I think only magical helms can be destroyed, as they are explicitly referenced to be non-armor. I am happy with normal helmets never being destroyed
User avatar

Posts: 16346

Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:15 am

Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:10 pm

Re: Q&A

I don't think it absolutely is implied that helmets can be smashed; I was only pointing out that it possibily is implied that helmets can be smashed. Besides, it's up to Mako not I :D
[f=32]Golgildir the Elf Medium (MV 12", AC 9, HD 1, hp 1/1, AL N) great cloak, lantern; spells: color spray; scrolls: sleep, sleep, charm person
Hirelings: Georges; torch[/f]
User avatar

Posts: 744

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:53 pm

Post Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:23 pm

Re: Q&A

I have made this thread viewtopic.php?f=32&t=522
where you can see marching orders, status of torches, time elapsed, etc
Previous

Return to Gorthaur's Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software